Step by Step WHEELIE

OB_CanuckBusa

Registered
Quincy, I am by no means a wheelie expert, but try the following:

1) Get a 16 tooth sprocket. Cheap and makes a big difference.
2) Experiment with wheelies when your tank is almost empty. Easier to bring up the front wheel.
3) Make sure you can shift from 1st to 2nd smoothly, while accelerating hard, with your weight shifted back. This is the part I need to work on. I am going to lower the shift lever, or reverse it, as it is feels like it is in an awkward position (too high) when I'm 'going for it'.
4) Don't let off on the throttle when the front comes up.
5) It will come up easily if you decelerate (compressing the forks) and then 'snap it' while the forks are rebounding. But you don't have to do this. It is possible to do wheelies smoothly, with very little chain 'snap'.
6) Start small, with larger and larger throttle inputs, until you know exactly when the wheel will come up. If in doubt, give more throttle.
7) If you get frustrated, stop and try again another day.
8) Learn on a friends bike, or a cheaper bike, if you can.

I have been trying to muster up enough courage to pop a decent wheelie in years. I have been riding for over 7 years so keeping the bike on the ground is not a problem. Many consider it crazy to want to learn to wheelie on a Busa... I can understand. But I really need to learn.

Can someone please tell me what gear, RPM, speed , sequence and any other thing I need to wheelie a stock 99 Busa. Everything on the bike is stock except the gas :)

So far I can kinda crank it in first and get the front end like half a foot off the ground but then I panic cos it feels so vicious and get pulled back and this forces me to give it more gas while trying to hang on. I hate that feeling that I am just hanging on and not in control of the wheelie.

Any info is appreciated since all the other guys I ride with a CHICKEN too and have no experience wheeling.

Thanks a lot in advance