Rubbing compound

monster

Wherever I May Roam
Donating Member
Registered
Well I'm sure most of you read that I dropped my bike yesterday. Like I was saying there are no cracks or breakage. I've never used rubbing compound before but someone suggested that I try it. It wouldn't take the scratches away but it would make them less noticeable. That and maybe a new kanji decal and I'd be good until winter when I'd have more $$$ to buy a new panel. Please give me your thoughts. I do appreciate them. KEVIN

I had a professional do it only because I am a chicken poop when it comes to inflicting damage on the bike... and yes I said poop. Mine had some pretty deep grooves and a bunch of minor ones... the wet sanding or whatever they did in the shop removed all but the really nast ones... At least enough that I wasn't embarassed to ride and have to explain how I fought off fifty guys trying to steal my bike and that it got knocked over in the scuffle... Although I really dropped it myself
biggrin.gif

Maybe pm smoking gunz or one of the other pro's.

Be very carefull using some of that stuff. Very abrasive.

Try some McQuires (sp) first to get a feel for it. Use a wet pad and do a little at a time. Follow with a polish then wax.

I'm sure several board members can help you further.

Boy, if if wasn't for bad luck you would have no luck at all.

hogger...

118_1834.JPG

I work a couple of buildings down from Corvette Center in Newington CT and the gentleman over there said it would be under $100 (maybe closer to $60 or $70) to wet sand it. He said it wouldn't come out completely but would definatly make it look better. Thanks for the idea Jessup. Hogger, thanks for the tip. I may hold off trying it myself and let Corvette Center do it for me.