Removing Transmission.

SHADiGUY1

IT IS WHAT IT IS
Donating Member
Registered
Hey whats up guys been reading around here for a while but this is my first post. I bought my busa back in september before that i had an r1 and cbr929 Anyhow i only have 700 Miles on the busa and was considering getting my trans undercut by APE the question is how difficult is the trans to remove and reinstall i am mechannically inclined as i am a car/truck mechanic and can do pretty much all things on cars never really got my hands into many bikes other than tires brakes etc .

Please any info would be greatly appreciated

Always clutch shift 2nd, No problems with stock tranny in 4yrs.
bowdown.gif

I have seen threads by the less than inclined do this... I think Professor has a lot of experience in this and what parts should be done at the same time..

as far as clutching the shifts? I typically only clutch first gear myself and when riding 2 up, I might 2 finger the clutch to keep it bit smoother for the mrs.. 14k on an 06 with no issues..

OK possible stupid question here. When big coop, says clutch shift second and Mr. Bogus says he 2 fingers the clutch, what the heck are ya'll talking bout? I always use the clutch when shifting thru the gears, is that right or wrong?

YANK THE ENGINE CLYDE.MY TRICK IN PULLING A BUSA ENGINE IS TO PULL THE REAR TIRE SLIDE THE AXLE BACK IN AND USE A FLOOR JACK TO LOWER THE BIKE DOWN TILL THE OIL PAN REST ON SOMETHING SOFT .PULL ALL THE MOUNTING BOLTS THEN JACK THE FRAME UP AND OFF THE ENGINE. MAKES IT A ONE PERSON JOB . A FLAT BOTTOM AFTER MARKET OIL PAN MAKES IT EAZIER.THEN TURN THE ENGINE UPSIDE DOWN AFTER PULLING ALL THE CASE BOLTS FROM THR TOP CASE PULL ALL THE BOLTS FROM THE BOTTOM CASE ,POP THE BOTTOM CASE AND THEIR IT IS.

Nice... now question is do you think this is a Required thing to do should i do it now? Or wait till i have issues if i ever do?

I would just wait if it was mine..