Lowering Question

hckyguy1

Registered
Ok guys, I know that lowering has been discussed alot but I have a question that I didn't find the answer to from searching. If I missed it feel free to just give me a link to what I'm looking for, not sure if I was searching the right things.

If all goes as planned I am supposed to pick up my new (to me) Busa on sunday. It has all the little things that I wanted to do already done to it, but I want to lower it in the near future as well. Now, I know that to lower the back I need to get the lowering links, but what exactly do I need to do in order to lower the front? Do I need to get a new tree that allows the forks to go through and then lower all the clamps down on the front forks? or is there something else I have to do to lower the front? I am new to the Busa so I figured where else to ask for the info than here at the .org

Thanks in advance. And once I pick up the bike ill be sure to post up some pics on here since I know how much everyone loves pics.

theres a couple different ways to lower the front. the upper triple tree is two pieces from O.E. basically you need a way to slide the tube up because the factory upper triple/top clamp wont allow you to do this.

1. a spacer to go in between the two pieces of the upper triple tree.

2. a new top clamp with holes for the forks to go through.

3. an entire new and 1 piece upper triple tree. rsd makes one that allows you to lower only 3/4" and has the bar mounts, theres a couple others that make these as well just not sure on manufacturer. or you can buy the race style that needs clip ons. prob the most expensive way, but it looks truely custom and cool.

or the more technical ways by internaly lowering the forks. :thumbsup:

Catconservative.jpg