I'm new to turbos, any help

BBlue Silver

Registered
G' Day, I haven't had anything to do with turbos, only superchargers (limited). This is a dumb question but how do they actualy work. Are they driven of the exhust gases? Are they like a two stroke where the power comes on high up in the reves. If I was after 280 rear wheel horse power would a stock motor handel it or would you need some internal mods? The bike is also to be used for sreet riding as well.

motorheads kit is capable of 280 rwhp but you would need an innercooler or water injection and run race gas, but would all be possible on a completely internally stock motor.

<!--EDIT|fstbusa
Reason for Edit: None given...|1106187618 -->

Well from what I have seen and heard over the last two years? Here's how they work... They take perfectly good fast bikes, and make them really frustrating Garage Ornaments...

They sound cool, add loads of "Street Cred", but it seems that every time someone really rides their Turbo Busa? Things go BOOM/Rattle/Clang...
sad.gif

Sorry Doc, Stunnah, Cecil.... But after listening to you guys over the last year or so.... Hell I've even sworn off turbo Cars...
laugh.gif

motorheads kit is capable of 280 rwhp but you would need an innercooler or water injection and run race gas, but would all be possible on a completely internally stock motor.
No at 280hp you don't need an intercooler or water, althogh water injection will help. You need water for a little protection if you go above 280hp. Almost all of the turbo kits will get you 260-280hp right of the bat. Internals are always good to do if you can.

Well from what I have seen and heard over the last two years?  Here's how they work... They take perfectly good fast bikes, and make them really frustrating Garage Ornaments...  

They sound cool, add loads of "Street Cred", but it seems that every time someone really rides their Turbo Busa?  Things go BOOM/Rattle/Clang...  
sad.gif