GPS Confirmed Top Speed Run

btreaves

Registered
What's up fellas,

This past Saturday I decided to go out and see if I could top out my 2000 BUSA. I recently purchased a GPS device (Geko 101 $85.00 @ Radio Shack) for this purpose.

So anyway, I rode the bike to a GPS confirmed 189mph. The speedo was reading about 218mph when I shut down. My shift light came on at 10,250 rpm and was on for about 3-4 seconds if memory serves, it may have been longer.

Anyway, the bike was rock steady except for a slight head shake when the road dropped away when I came off of this bridge.

WHAT A RUSH!

Congrats, I'm glad you LANDED safely!
cool.gif

Awesome ... good job man!! Hey are you rolling down to Budds Creek for the races next month?

I usually don't go to those Super Bike Show Downs at Budds Creek. I'd much rather be riding myself. I don't much like watching other people ride.

As for the MSF post. I was an apprentice to be a certified instructor, but I never actually taught a class because teaching on Thursday, Friday, Saturday, and Sunday wouldn't give me anytime to ride my own bike, so I bagged it and haven't looked back since.

That is very good 189mph @ 10,250 You would get much more out of it @10,800rpm on the gauge.

No TRE fstbusa!

Ninja Eater...I'm not sure what you were saying??? The shift light came on at 10,250rpm, but I held it wide open for a few seconds more. I wasn't able to bump the revlimiter in 6th gear, but only because I ran out of road.

All about SPEED..189 ROCKS..my personal best was a GPS reading @ 176 in fifth.
Strange though...my tach was buried..false reading..but probably @ a true 10,800
It was at 11,200... WooHoo and that was in 2002....I don't think we should try TOP SPEED every day....
rock.gif