06 PROBLEMS

H2447INTX

Registered
I just bought a new 06 busa 0miles 9950 out the door so i thought it was a good price. any how i just thought i would ask what if any problems you all have had with the 06 modle yr. i am new to the busa and i would like a heads up on what i might need to look for

thanks

Some complain about 2nd gear slipping.....but I dont think that is isolated to the 2006 model.

I love mine.

Welcome. We need pics of your bike to complete your acceptance.
biggrin.gif

Welcome! My '05 has had one issue; the shifter lever pivot bolt backed out was about to leave the shifter hanging by the linkage when I noticed it. Some members have reported problems with their bikes "jumping a tooth" in 2nd gear, high revs.

Also, there is a false neutral between 5th and 6th gears. Shift it like you mean it, and you will never notice it.

Also, this things costs too much money. Just when you get it just the way you want it, you find more mods are necessary. It becomes a constant battle to stay ahead of the mod frenzy around here.

Enjoy the ride, and hang on.

Watch 2nd for first thousand miles and also the false neutral above, shift really hard and give it time to go in gear until you are done with break in period. Also adjust your idle the first thousand miles. It needs to be a around 1100 to 1200 and they seem to slip down during breakin. Get the fake break in oil out asap and get some real oil in there too (will help with shifting).

3650 on the clock on mine with no problems. Concur with firm shift between 5th & 6th for best results. Also, keep the chain clean which helps with smooth shifting. Have fun!!

I have 9000 miles for the first 9 months of ownership on my 06. Not a single prob... Although, you better mean it when you shift 5th to 6th. Other than that??? nothing... best bike I have ever owned...
rant.gif