HELP! Anyone a pest inspector on here?

bigjohn141

Donating Member
Registered
Ok so here is the situation... I am trying to buy a house and everything is almost complete. The bank sent over a termite inspector today and he found a spot on the drywall of an exterior wall in the garage that is about 1x3ft total and says it is termites. He did say this is the only sign he saw and that he saw no activity in what was left of the little mud tubes. I went over and looked at this when I got off of work and it does look like termites but it just looks like surface damage and I did not see any wings or anything around and it does appear that the made it into the interior wall but I am no expert. Ok so now the kicker. The person told me that they could treat it but they would have to drill holes in the floor (single story concrete slab home) and treat around the house. He said the estimate was $1100! Does he really have to drill holes in the floor since it is concrete? This does not make since to me. Should I just take down the section of drywall and see if it superfical and go from there or should I let him treat it? I just dont want someone trying to scam me into a lot of work that doesnt have to be done. I am getting this house at $20,000 less than what it is worth and the home inspector checked it out and said it is in good shape and the owner is selling in as is conditon so I will have to pay for whatever work is done. Any help or insite, professional or not, would be great. THANKS!

There are other treatments that do not require the floor in the house to be drilled. They will trench around the house and form a barrier. They garage is drilled. It is a different type of chemical than what we are used to. We just did the house we sold in September that way. I know a guy you can call. He is honest, but I would guess Elk City would be a bit far.