Drag and Street setup

daddy1

Registered
Ok guys and gals help a new Busa guy get his bike set up for 1/4 mile drag racing but still be able to ride on the street and have fun on a twisty road.
Yeah I know, they say you can't have your cake and eat it too but I know someone out there has done this.
Lets start with what I would call the standard mods for just about every Busa owner:
Pipe, slip on or full system ( I did the yosh full).
PC 3 or 5 with map.
Lowering kit and strap.
Swing arm extensions are out as they kill the twisty road factor.

I have been running my 08 @ the strip all year and my best is 10.01 @ 147 with a 1.69 60 ft. Wheelies are a BIG problem.
I'm 6ft 220lbs. I have been ridding for 35 years. Raced motocros for 15 years and this is my 2nd year of drag racing.

What do ya got?

Go with the extensions

It will help the wheelie problem and you will be suprised how well you can still do the twisties, and if you dont like the way it feels, Keep the stock length chain and swap it back when its twistie time, But I think you will be suprised how little you loose.

I road a buddys Busa with extensions and no way will it work for me but the swap method may be the answer.

That seems to be basicaly it, because all you can do for the twisties is lose weight or gain more power(costly after basic busa mods), you could also try air box mod and air filter if you havent changed that and maybe cams

What it seems most people do to get started in dragracing or what i always do is....

Full Exhaust System-which you already have
Dynojet PC USB or 5
Brocks Ultra Clutch Mod
Brocks Clutch Cushion Kit
Clutch Slave Support if you go with the Cushion Kit because of the stiffer springs
Front Lowering Strap
Radial Strap Brackets
Rear Adjustable Lowering Links so it will be very easy to raise and lower
BMC Race Air Filter
89 Pump Gas
Last but actually the most important to me is all the seat time that you can get!!!!!