Attack of the killer sand...

ridercoach

Post ***** King & Local Safety Guru
Donating Member
Registered
director.gif

I have been teaching motorcycle safety for over 5 years now, and in every single class I ask the riders to tell the class about horror stories that they have heard about or been in relating to motorcycle crashes.

I do this to prove a point to the class that a lot of times a motorcycle accident could have been avoided by the motorcyclist and/or is a direct relation to what the motorcyclist did. It never fails that I get one student that tells me that they or someone they know was making a turn and sure enough there was sand or rocks in the road that caused them to fall off there bike.

I can not dispute that sand and rocks will not make you fall, it is a fact that it can. The problem I am having is there are so many accidents in turns caused by this phenomenon. I myself know of two friends that both have met this sand in the corners.

Now statistically speaking, most motorcyclist only accidents happen in curves. This is due to lack of proper turning procedure. This is the “Slow, Look, Press, and Roll Techniqueâ€. Slow down before the turn (which will allow for proper roll on the throttle), Look through the turn as far as you can (look where you want to go, not at the ground, curb, lines, or bumper of the car ahead of you. Trust your eyes, peripheral vision will see all that you are not directly looking at), Press on the handle bars in the direction you want to go (counter steering, it’s a wonderful thing), and roll (or maintain a steady speed) on the throttle (we roll to stabilize the motorcycle). Now this simple technique has worked wonders for me, my students who choose to apply it, and motorcycle racers.