What a good $ for paint.

SHIRO HAYABUSA

Registered
Just called to get a quote on a basic white with decals under the clear coat. I was quoted 8-$900. Is this a fair price for sanding and paint for all fairings and tank? I wasn't sure what to expect but I figured 4 or 500 not 900!

Advice please.......

QUE5710N

thats about what it takes, with them providing all materials, except decal kit.

base clear has been about 800 for me. tri coat is usually about 1300. you can buy your own paint and save some money usually and get the exact shade you want. just be sure to get matching reducer etc..

Last edited:
Reducer? what's that? Would I save a significant amount of money doing it myself? I have zero experience with a gun and zero supplies? I read the thread on doing it yourself after tools and materials it seems like it costs more.

no i mean buy the color, clear, reducer yourself. you can save a little just by buying that.

yes you would save money by doing it yourself, if thats something you would be interested in, but i dont really reccomend it without live guidance or prior experience.

and on supplies, yes youll have prob close to the same money as a drop off job.

Here they start at 500 then you have to add the price of materail and repairs.

900 is not an high number but you can get it done for less if you shop around

I painted this bike for less then 300 in matrerial

I think the clear was only 75 for the gallon and the base was 36 a quart.

Primer runs like 80 a gallon

Where are you located maybe we could work something out.

I do not think that I would use that brand clear again but there are some other clears that cost about 120 to 130 that work great

2010-05-21_11.31.35.jpg

2010-05-21_11.31.48.jpg

2010-05-21_11.32.49.jpg

2010-05-21_11.33.01.jpg

Last edited:
$900 seems decent. I paid $500 and got a $500 paint job, those fairings are now sitting in boxes in the basement...