New Tire Highside

ksheldon

Ex Rookie
Donating Member
Registered
I have been riding for 35 years, have some track time under my belt, and I know how slippery new tires can be and yet I still got caught out and highsided my bike last Monday.

Cold morning, zero miles on new Dunlop 208's, came around a sharp corner 2 blocks from my house at about 10mph (usually hit it over 25 mph) started to straighten the bike up and apply the throttle, and the bike just went sideways like I was on ICE and then snapped back and highsided me. I couldn't believe it. I was being really careful and it still happened.

I was being as careful as I could have been and yet it still happened.

I got dinged up and the bike got a lot of road rash on the left side. Looks like I need a new left side and rear fairing and maybe a new front fairing as well , plus a new stator cover. My helmet did its job - I'll need a new one now.

Just another warning - to be extra careful on new rubber.

Kent Sheldon

Sorry to hear and glad your OK! Was the road wet at all?
rock.gif

Did you dump the throttle when the bike tire started spinning?

Dammit, I hate to hear about another crash.
drooling3.gif
Just glad yer here postin' about it bro. Live to ride again!!!
beerchug.gif

Post pics of the damage and maybe some of us might have the pieces you need...

I have been riding for 35 years, have some track time under my belt, and I know how slippery new tires can be and yet I still got caught out and highsided my bike last Monday.

Cold morning, zero miles on new Dunlop 208's, came around a sharp corner 2 blocks from my house at about 10mph (usually hit it over 25 mph) started to straighten the bike up and apply the throttle, and the bike just went sideways like I was on ICE and then snapped back and highsided me. I couldn't believe it.  I was being really careful and it still happened.

I was being as careful as I could have been and yet it still happened.