Fuel pump issues

Commuta_Busa

Donating Member
Registered
So here's another result I had from the last Maxton event I thought I would share with everyone. It seems I may have to look for a new fuel pump. I've been running the same pump for many years now. This might be a good time to try a bosch 044 to see how well it runs in my fuel system.

The first graph is a graph I always plot for fuel pressure and oil just to see at a glance if there are any major issues going on with fluid pickup. If during accelaration there's a drop in either it could indicate that the pickup is not completely submerged/covered.

In the second graph I look at the pressure and include the throttle position. This tells me how hard the fuel system is working. You can see that once I go to full throttle there's a drop in pressure.

I also check fuel pressure vs voltage to see if a drop in pressure may be caused by a drop in voltage to the pumps. That one checks out fine with the new electrical system.

Before things get worse with this pump I'll swap in a different one to see if this goes away.

fuel vs g.jpg

fuel vs tps.jpg

I just did the charts real quick in excel from my datalog data.
Yes, it's an aftermarket Walbro pump. It's a good pump it just may be getting tired after so many years.

What datalogger are you using?
External pump I guess??
Probably going to need one since in a somewhat near futurer since mine is 11 yrs and they're known to loose pressure when they get hot..

What datalogger are you using? It's always nice to find out things before you sit there with a camshaft or other internal part up your ass... :D

I use the AimSports MXL datalogger system. Yes it's an external pump. I had tried their internal pump but it was heating the fuel to much. I agree it's always good to stay on top of things. Hot pumps never last long. There are always some things you can watch out for while other things just happen. I hate finding a failure point after the fact. :laugh: