Cheapest way to get into the 200mph club

Vonderbach

Your AD here!
Donating Member
Registered
The title says it all. I hope this question hasn't been beaten into the ground before. I'm not terribly interested in turbo or any major modifications, since normally the bike is plenty fast for me. But I would genuinely like to be able to say that I reached 200 mph. Is it possible without major mods?

It's one thing to say "yes, here's my slip verifying I've gone over 200mph" and another to say "I'm a member of the 200mph club".

To go over 200mph wouldn't take a large budget at all. To join the 2club will take a bigger budget.

Yeah, I'm lost now. Are you saying that the 200 mph club is a real club? Because I did not know that. I'm a relative newb, so be gentle with me. :bowdown:

And for clarity, how would one achieve the speed, sans the club status.

Yes there are official 200mph clubs. To gain entry to the club you have to break and set a record at a sanctioned LSR event at or above 200mph. In other words if the class you're competing in currently has the record of say 210mph then you would have to go faster than that speed to get into the 2club. So going <210 in that class would me yes you have gone over 200mph but no you're not a 2club member.

It used to be relatively easy to get in the 2club back in 2000 but since then the records for each class have gone way up. Here are two links that have plenty of information on Land Speed Racing (LSR). On the ECTA site you can see what the current records are for each class.

Welcome to ECTA

landracing.com - Home

as an example, for the all motor partial streamlined 1350 max cc class the current record is 212.917mph at Maxton:

9741 MPS/G-1350/4 Ace Performance Sal Spatafora Oct-06 212.917

Last edited:
Huh...and here I thought it just meant you'd gone 200 mph or better with some documentation to prove it.