2004 YZF R1

faucet

Registered
anybody know the stats on this bike, 0 - 60, top speed etc. 180 HP? will this be the busa killer? rumor is 05 busa will have more power and different looks, anyone know more details and possible release date?

if the yammi has 180 at the wheel I will eat my shorts....no busa killers out there, the closest will still be the gsxr 1k and the 12...

where did you hear this rumor about the 05 being faster?

Yeah come on gimme the info.....
cool.gif

anybody know the stats on this bike, 0 - 60, top speed etc. 180 HP? will this be the busa killer? rumor is 05 busa will have more power and different looks, anyone know more details and possible release date?
Not sure about the '05 Busa.  The new liter bikes comparision events will start the first of Feb'04.  I haven't seen anything on the '04 R1 other than the Daytona tire tests earlier in Dec.  Several sources have rode the CBR1000RR and the ZX-10R production models on the track.  I have a subscription to www.motorcycle.com and they paint a pretty intimidating picture of the Kawi in my opinion.  Personally I think that the '04 1000s will put out somewhere between 150-160 rwhp with the Kawi being on the high end, and the Honda being at the low.  We'll all have to wait and see.

Lance

<!--EDIT|r1R00KIE
Reason for Edit: "I'm still illiterate"|1072366145 -->

You mean any real facts? Other then the Urban myths.
biggrin.gif

The new R1 has a claimed 180 HP at the engine crank. That is not rear wheel HP. The HP as measured at the rear wheel by a dyno will probably be around 155. Which is a great number for a liter class bike weighing a hair over 400 lbs with fuel, etc. Of course the torque numbers will be much less impressive.

155 to the rear on the r1 then the hayabusa puts out around 157 to the rear making almost no difference especially since there is almost a 100 pound difference in weight.