PMR Triple Clamp

aphartman

Registered
I'm new to the whole lowering scene when it comes to bikes. I recently did a PMR Triple Clamp on the bike. I have 2" of the forks hanging through. Does that translate to the front being lowered 2"?? I've tried to look at pics of other members but everyone elses looks about 1" of forks coming through...

TIA

I don't remember what the exact difference is from stock, but I can tell you that you will likely bottom out with it that low.

When I did mine on the 03, I installed the clamp them marked the forks before lowering. I don't remember though how much was or wasn't sticking up before I started.

As a general rule of thumb if you go much more than 1.25" you need to start worrying about things like the fender hitting the nose, and bottoming out on speedbumps or large dips depending on your weight.

I should have done all the work myself so I know exactly what it was set at. I had the dealership install everything before I picked it up. I have not bottomed out on the front "yet". All I know is that it is really really low. I'm having to enter parking lots at an angle and I dont even dream of doing speed bumps. The rear is lowered with Soupy's adjustable so I know I can raise that up but not sure about the front. All I know is I have 2" of fork sticking through the clamp.

thanks for the input!

Went out in the garage just to tinker around. I have approx 3" of space between the front tire/fairing and the underside of the fender. I bounced on it and it didnt bottom out. I think I may have hit the fender a bit today on a bridge gap that stuck up quite a bit...but im not sure..its not scuffed on the underside of the fender or anything.

I do not like the fact that my handlebars are now about 1 1/2" lower..it does play hell on the old back.

It looks good as hell sittin that low but it is kind of a hassle being afraid of what I'm gonna scrape on..