Hayabusa or Speed Triple

OB_BRM

Registered
Hello; I've been reading and enjoying this forum for a long time but this is my first post. First, a little background. I've been riding for almost 40 years I currently have five bikes ('67 Triumph TR6C in concours condition, '83 GS1100, '89 650 GT Honda Hawk, '91 ZX11, and a '96 Buell S1 Lightning}. I had been planning on buying a new Hayabusa this spring for a long time.

Now for my dilemma. At the Suzuki shop a Red and Gray for $9900. Directly across the street, a 2000 Triumph Speed Triple for dealer cost, $8600. For everyone here, this choice is a "no-brainer, but not for me. The Hayabusa is a better ZX11, the bike I had waited on from Kawasaki for a long time. The Triumph is a better Buell. I really liked the Hayabusa but the Triumph really made my heart race to look at it. It has a single-sided swingarm with a high single exhaust to show off the open wheel, a black lump of a fuel injected motor with tons of easy wheelie torque, two big chrome headlights that give it a praying mantis look, perfect ergonomics for me, and all set off by a gorgeous roulette green paint job, the perfect color for a "Limey" bike.

Well, I walked back and forth across the street a dozen times trying to decide which one to get. My stomach was in knots. A few days later my decision was made for me when I wrecked my ZX11 (four broken ribs}. I had to be practical and replace it so I got the Hayabusa. I brought it home this past Saturday and put 200 miles on it Sunday. I know now I made the right decision.

I still want that Speed Triple though.

After listening to you praise the Triple, I don't think you did make the right decision. The right bike to buy is the one that stirs your soul and pulls you in, it sounds to me as if the Triple does that to you!