Tour of Honor HAWAII: the most fun/laidback/relaxing ride of my life :)

kromdom

wannabe HOON
Donating Member
Registered
On my way to Vietnam for a JPAC mission (JPAC - Home), I layover in Oahu to get gear/refresher training and as luck would have it, HAWAII is one of the destinations for 2011 Tour of Honor (2011 Tour of Honor Motorcycle Ride).
And as an added bonus, not only was the ToH season still open but also learned from Steve (ToH Organizer) that the 3rd Place trophy might still be up for grabs. YOWZA, a huge surprise because the TOTAL distance for all 7 memorials was only under 100 miles (a mere hiccup vs the almost 2,000 miles I just did for ToH California)
2011 Tour of Honor HAWAII - Google Maps
Oh heck yeah, I was not going to let this golden opportunity slip me by. ToH Hawaii, here I come :D

100_1942.jpg

I have been riding for 20+ years and NOT once have I ever been on a moped/scooter. But in the urban jungle of Waikiki/Honolulu, a scooter is a most excellent mode of transport so perfect for cruising island style. Thought about renting a Sportser from CRUZIN Hawaii (ToH sponsor) but SO GLAD I was on a small/lightweight/nimble NO-CLUTCH bike…priceless when making lots of U-turns in narrow streets or making countless stops to ask for directions/use my GPS (more on that later).

Now on to the pictures and the only way to kick this off is with a picture of my Oahu stallion: behold the HD 200cc evo (minimum size for scooters to be FREEWAY-legal here). I now have a new found respect and admiration for these little critters (wicked rear brakes, way too easy to lock the rear tire :lol: )

ScooterRental2.jpg

Drove to Waikiki to pick up the scooter and with the Hawaii Five Oh jingle playing in the background (in my mind at least), ToH Hawaii is officially underway.

ScooterRental1.jpg