Road trip to NC and TN

millertyme

Registered
well, the winter is almost done...according to the calender at least.  we still have 6' snowbanks.
and because of this, myself and 2 buddies are leaving New Brunswick on March 30th, and heading south.  likely trailer as far as Richmond, VA, then ride the parkway. we are thinking of stopping at Wheels Through Time, and riding the dragon.  we only have 6 days on the bikes, so we are limited to what we can do and how far we can go, but i was hoping to get some great first-hand info for this area.  it is my first time in NC. if it goes as well as we hope, it will be for 2 weeks next year.
thanks
Brian

you are going to trailer to Richmond then go ride the parkway?
rock.gif
dunno if you have looked at a map but you are gonna miss some really nice roads if you come that far south and then hit the parkway. skyline drive/blue ridge parkway kinda split at afton mountain and I64, 1.5hrs west of richmond.

There's some great roads in the central va area, good ones down east as well, its all in what you want. How far east in NC are you going?

I second the Cherohala Skyway, it is my personal favorite in this area. Yesterday I rode TN 68 for the first time which runs for about 35 miles between Tellico Plains TN and Ducktown TN. It runs through or adjacent to the Cherokee National Forest. Highly recommend this road. Tellico Plains is where the Skyway begins so you could ride both roads plus the Dragon in 1 day. I try and avoid the Dragon on the weekends because of crowds and not sure if law enforcement will be patrolling it like they did last year. I would hope the riders from Northern Georgia chime in as there are supposedly some fantastic rides there and they are quite close to Tennessee. Have a great trip and PM me for personal info if you need help (breakdowns, etc) while here.

rock.gif