remote starter

chev982

Registered
Hello just wondering if anyone has purchased a remote car starter. Any ideas on what is good make?
thanks

astroflex, compustar, viper        I am a installer been doing remote starts for 8 years just have it put in by a good shop and there shouldnt be a problem(astroflex is made in canada)

I wanted to put one on my deisel truck, but it seems like alot of trouble for a deisel because of the glow plugs taking more time to get hot in the winter than the summer. Seems like you would have to change the start delay or something.

they actually hook in to the wait to start light I do tons of deisels farmers love them just did an 07 chevy duramax today dont even have a delayed start any more
super.gif

Yeah I have a remote starter. He is 12. He works in hot weather or cold weather. I don't have to replace his battery and I don't have to carry him around on my key ring.

The down side. He has an attitude 12 going 25 if ya know what I mean.

Don
super.gif

I paid to have one put on the wifes truck.

Works well, and is a great way to warm it up, and keep her safe.

I believe its a DEI 561R.

From what I hear they are all the same if you have a good installer.

I put one in my '05 E250 service van last year and wouldn't want to be without it. I convinced the company I needed an alarm system and they agreed to reimbursed me so I found one with all the bells and whistles.

I picked one up off ebay that is very similar to the one on my Busa. It's a paging alarm system that alerts the key fob up to a 1/2 mile away if someone sets it off, has remote power door lock features (also included the 4 motorized power actuaters) and has remote start.
The cost with shipping was something like $132.00. It took me a while to install it but it was worth every minute of cramped torture under the dash.