new rider. Help please

busa_wannabe

Registered
Hey everyone, Ive been reading posts on this forum and doing my research on the busa's. I dont quite think im ready for a busa yet. So I was wondering what a good sport bike to learn on was. I've been riding motocross for a little over 2 years. Any help and suggestions are welcomed and appriciated. Thank you!

Welcome to the board!

Any sportbike can be deadly. Any motorcycle can be as well. My advice is to take a MSF course and then go out and buy whatever floats your boat. Just respect the machine. The more powerful the bike, the more self-control and respect you'll need.

The current 600's are scary fast at higher revs, but not too bad if you keep the rpm's down. The liter bikes are get extra crazy at the higher revs. The Busa is scary all over
tounge.gif
A nice "tamer" sportbike to look at might be something like an older Honda Interceptor. The Buells are awesome too!

Buells are great for learning how to corner. They have LOTS of torque but not so much HP. If you want to learn how to wheelie and hit corners there ya go. The 600's are nimble as well with a reasonable amount of power to play with but not a whole lot of torque.
The Busa, well it'll hurt ya before you realize ya just screwed up. It will also bring a smile to your face that death itself couldn't remove
wink.gif

My reccomendation would be to look for a 2 or 3 year old bike that is not pristine but not beaten on. If it's too clean you'll spend more time making sure it stays that way and less time expanding your skills. You can expect to pick something up in the $3000 to $5000 range that will do what you need very nicely.
BUT before you get on ANYTHING gear up! We'll be here when you are ready for your Busa. You'll notice that very few Busa owners give up their scoots voluntarily.

<!--EDIT|MoosesBusa
Reason for Edit: None given...|1119536681 -->