Naked Busa claims 248+ mph... Possible?

Mad_Otter

Registered
A friend mentioned it to me and I told him (based on what I've seen on this board) that 248+ on a naked bike is BS, but he pointed out that it was Ghost Rider .

Now, I'm not an expert, but Ghost Rider isn't known as a guy who needs to exaggerate.  So all you Bonneville folks out there, set me straight please - is it possible?

Possibly mind you we aren't talking about a naked STOCK busa. We are talking about a turbo charged busa built for setting speed records. And its all together possible that a custom naked bike would go that fast if it has enough power even with a high drag coefficient.

Think of how fast it would run if it had the complete fairing
biggrin.gif

I call Bull.... If Noonan, and the others run 245+ with bodywork and 400+hp...there is NO WAY a naked Busa will pull 240 anything unless it has 600+hp IMO.

Dave

ghost rider's busa is capable of over 400hp. that is far from stock guys.
Yeah but being stock is irrelevant to the question. Can GR's bike hit the claimed 248+ mph?

It says it has 499 horses, which is awesome - I'm not taking anything away from it, but I think that it's just not enough to push a naked bike to 248.

New Speed King seems to agree, and you can see his "Project 260" is a light year away from a stock bike.

Anybody else who's actually hit 250 have some input?

My money says at 499hp and a few mods he can do 248 mph on a naked bike
biggrin.gif
With enough power I would think it is possible but NOT ON SALT!

I would think Drag would overcome traction and just have him spinning the rear at about 200
rock.gif
?

Math guys what kind of power would it take for a naked bike to run 248
rock.gif
??

rock.gif

My money says at 499hp and a few mods he can do 248 mph on a naked bike
biggrin.gif
With enough power I would think it is possible but NOT ON SALT!

I would think Drag would overcome traction and just have him spinning the rear at about 200
rock.gif
?