Can this car tire be plugged/fixed?

Fastfrog007

Donating Member
Registered
I got flat tire today :banghead: Ive had the car about a month and its been a fight the whole time. Today, I was goin up to an Autocross event with some friends, had a 02 Camaro SS and a Vette C6 leading the way, we got up onto the highway, I was last and I found the rock or whatever got my tire. Wasnt sure what happened at first, but then the car started pulling to the right, so a got along side my friend and he said to pull over.
Anyway, can this be plugged? Ill probly go to the tire shops tomorrow and see what they say, but i wanna know now!! I really dont wanna replace em, seems thier about $900 for all 4. :banghead: What say you Org.

SANY1381.jpg

SANY1383.jpg

SANY1380.jpg

SANY1379.jpg

Doesn't look very good. Right in the edge there, I'd be concerned.

It prolly can be fixed since it isnt exactly on the sidewall. It may not be fixable as you are nearing the edge of the steel belt I am no tire expert so I could be completely wrong.

I wouldn't be surprised if it was in fact to close and the plug/patch doesn't completely seal the hole or the tire shop tells you it cant be fixed.

Are those Nittos btw? If they are how you like them. I have been running the SSS for a while and decided they are good for cornering and daily driving and that is about it. Any semblance of real HP and they just die.

Well, it seems these cars dont like to have just one tire replaced, the symetrical all wheel drive system gets angry. So, I think ill throw the flat tire in the river, and make swings from the other 3:laugh:
Ill be gettin some snow/all season tires now and some good summer tires and wheels in the spring.
I hope the money tree I planted sprouts soon :whistle:

Probably, but will have to be dismounted and fixed from the inside. If the whole on the inside is as big as the rip then probably not fixable.