Busa engine work , Hard to do?

PocketRocket

Donating Member
Registered
Ok Engine Guru's , I am kinda new to the bike world but not at turning a wrench...I have built hundreds / Hundreds of automatic trans. and hundreds of Mostly chevy small blocks.. Nos & supercharged engines So my question is I am thinking of making my busa a 1363 ( instead of buy'in another bike) I am averaging the cost between another bike already built and or building my own motor.. Now is building the engine really as bad as it seems or people say? How hard can it be to have the upper cylinders bored and some new rod berrings& pistons installed with a proper P&P on the head...? Me thinks it isnt that hard its just different... I sure would like your input... Thanks

It's no different than working on any sideways import, DOHC, four cylinder. Just smaller. The beauty is that the cylinder assembly is separate from the base casing and that means it's replaceable. The basic difference is that it has straight-cut driven everything. Get everything in the right slots, and the rest falls into place. If you have a Suzuki GSX1300R shop manual, you have all the specs and procedures particular to the Hayabusa engine.

Standard prep, and assembly guidelines apply. :super:

Ok Engine Guru's , I am kinda new to the bike world but not at turning a wrench...I have built hundreds / Hundreds of automatic trans. and hundreds of Mostly chevy small blocks.. Nos & supercharged engines So my question is I am thinking of making my busa a 1363 ( instead of buy'in another bike) I am averaging the cost between another bike already built and or building my own motor.. Now is building the engine really as bad as it seems or people say? How hard can it be to have the upper cylinders bored and some new rod berrings& pistons installed with a proper P&P on the head...? Me thinks it isnt that hard its just different... I sure would like your input... Thanks