Busa Brake upgrade - 04 to 06 R1 Calipers?

corrcullen

Registered
I read somewhere that 04 to 06 R1 front calipers will fit a Gen 1 hayabusa and will also greatly improve braking.
Does anyone know if this is correct?

The R1 calipers are radial, so I see problems from the start. Perhaps the intention was to change the forks and calipers. I'd be curious to know myself. :sly:

only messin with ya, we'll have to persuade gixxers mate to run off two more sets of the 65mm adapters for us and run with the brembo's :thumbsup:

he's followin us, its a conspiracy, you should stick up info of your install here :thumbsup:

Cheers Stig :thumbsup:

:welcome: I stumbled upon this place purely by accident and I guess this is my intro...

Hey 2 All... I broke my neck 10 years ago in a bike accident on a gixxer 1100 (diesel spill) and my first bike when I returned to riding in ... December last year, was a Busa :thumbsup:

Anyway... I'm an engineer by trade and I'm constantly looking for ways to improve things... The first thing that struck me about the Busa was how poor the brakes were for what basically amounts to a rocket sled. (we'll get to that later)

We all know (I hope) that Brembo are undoubtedly one of the best brake manufacturers and in contrast, Tokico are one of the worst... I've just binned the 6 pot Tokico calipers off the busa and replaced them with a set of 4 pot (I've done the math, 4 pots are better) Brembo 4 pot calipers.

It's hard to draw a comparison between the two sets of calipers, this would be like trying to differentiate between good and evil, we all know what's right but try explaining it to someone in a few words... when they've never seen right!!!

What does differentiate me from some others, is that I speak my mind and simply because I own a hayabusa, doesn't mean I'll sing their praises when they shouldn't be sung.