Yet another overheating post

LightCycle

Donating Member
Registered
I just can't figure it out ya'll.

06 Busa, 3500 Miles, mods are in sig. No fairing screens or headers -yet.

I've searched and read hundreds of post indicating the same general overheating problem. No one seems to post a confirmation of fix.

No other bike I've owned ran hot like this. I've been riding for 10 years and have owned 4 bikes. Hottest temp my Gixxer ever saw was 127 and that was crawling in traffic in the middle of summer in DC.

My beloved Busa has ran hot now 3 times. In all three cases the needle was a hair away from red, fan was on all three times, however I never made the light come on and no boil over.

The first was right after I bought her - about 10 miles on her, sitting at a red light for a few minutes back in April (not too hot outside).

The second was at Rolling Thunder - about 2500 miles. We were trying to get out of the city and got stuck in downtown traffic. Again, the fans came on, needle shadowed red, bike felt very hot.

The last time was on Wed morning. About 75 degrees outside. I have about 3500 miles on her. The fan came on and off to keep the temp just below the middle. Then it started to rise, I could see the needle jump up in spurts. When traffic moved and I could get some air flow, she cooled down, but at the next traffic light, she'd jump right up there again. It really sucked. The fan ran constantly trying to fight the heat, but it appeared not to be cooling at all.

On the way home - much hotter outside, a little lighter traffic, but not much. She did run a little hot, but the fan seemed to be able to keep the needle close to the middle. Nowhere near the overheating problems as I had on the way to work.

I came home and have read every overheating post the search engine came up with. It took a couple of days.