Winter storage ?

mzrsq

Busaless
Donating Member
Registered
I currently keep both the Busa and the RoadStar in Condor Wheel chocks while sittng in the garage.  Being that this is the first year that I've ever had chocks, I was wondering if it's OK to store them for the winter in the chocks or if it would be bad on the tires.  Anybody else have any experience here.

The bikes actually take up less room standing straight up than on kickstands, and between the 2 bikes and the wife's mustang, I need all the room I can get in a one car garage.  I have Pit-Bull stands for the Busa, which would be ideal, just can't get it close enough to the walls with the handles and everything sticking out.

TIA

Scott

I'm no expert, but I understand that barrings flat spot if you leave something mechanical at rest for an extended time. Engine, wheel, etc. The stands would help, but you need to rotate the barrings once in a while IMHO.

TTT

rock.gif

(dadofthree @ Nov. 08 2006,21:53) I'm no expert, but I understand that barrings flat spot if you leave something mechanical at rest for an extended time. Engine, wheel, etc. The stands would help, but you need to rotate the barrings once in a while IMHO.
+1 on the "flat spots" and the bearings. if you want to save space and your not going to ride her for a while, pull the mirrors off and lower cowl plastics. this would give you a bit more space.

Hey Scott, you might not want to spend the money but how about the board sponsors Redline.
They have the SWIVEL stand that you should be able to put on the stands and then push to the wall.
I know it won't help the roadstar, but it would the Busa.

I left my bike on my Baxley last year. I pull the belly pan and bought a small floor jack from Advance Auto. I jacked the bike up enough to raise the rear wheel every two weeks or so and ran the bike for about 15 minutes and then through the gears at low idle enought to clear the pipes of moisture and heat the oil up etc...