Why is it doing this

MIKE R

Registered
My 04 just turned 1600mile and im having fuel or spark problems i think. At low idle it seems to be starving for fuel. Taking of from stops etc.unless your on it.then cruising at85 top gear has a sputter between 4000 5000 rpm.no leaking hoses redid pc3.i tried stp fuel injector cleaner no help checked fuel pump filter screen it was clean.should i change the plugs? Its driving me nuts and seems to be getting worse. Im pretty sure i got some bad fuel the day it started but that was 3 tanks ago fuel injector cleaner didnt seem to work.any ideas what it could be???

I'm not a mechanic but it seems an '04 with 1600mi. has been sitting for a while at some point. I would probably clean the injectors(remove and clean) or have them cleaned. Not pouring injector cleaner into the gas tank but a true service cleaning. Maybe change the fuel filter too. New plugs certainly never hurts. Change them with OEM replacements.

My $.02

04 w/1600 miles? I am with Don... probably some serious varnish issues with old fuel..

a word of caution.. if this is running lean due to plugged injector nozzles, you can hurt a motor pretty easily running it hard.. I would see about getting the injectors out and checking the flow rates.. checking the pump would not be a bad idea either but they are not so sensitive to varnish like the injectors..

make sure the tank and rest of system are spotless going back together..

I would check/change plugs, change fuel filter and run Sea Foam through the system, You can normally smell the varnish smell in the tank and the exhaust when running. Might have a messed up fuel pump as well after sitting with bad gas as long as it seems this bike probably did. The Sea Foam will break alot of that loose though. I have used the stuff on alot of bikes that have sat with great results.

Part of the fuel pump.

I was afraid of that...

wher the heck is fuel pump, been looking in the part finche and can't find it?