wheelie at a constant 70-75mph??

JON_SRT-4

Registered
Im a new busa rider and i was wondering if there is any way to pull at 70mph wheelie and pretty much keep it with in say 80mph or so. all the people i talk to say they have to keep speeding up and shifting gears to keep it up. im not much for wheelieing at 100mph or higher!!! i know once you hit the balance point it will stay up but my throttle is so touchy that when i get to the balance point and start to let out on the throttle a little it just falls. any help would be GREAT!!!

In my humble opinion. These bikes are too heavy and the balance point it too high to try to maintain a constant wheelie. Not only that, but it doesn't take very many times of setting it down too hard to have to replace fork seals. I am not the most experienced rider on here by a long shot, but I have been riding gixxers for a little over 20 years. This is not the bike to play that game with, it will bite you and bite you hard.

No flame intended

Don

(USN05LE @ Jul. 24 2007,10:24) In my humble opinion.  These bikes are too heavy and the balance point it too high to try to maintain a constant wheelie.  Not only that, but it doesn't take very many times of setting it down too hard to have to replace fork seals.  I am not the most experienced rider on here by a long shot, but I have been riding gixxers for a little over 20 years.  This is not the bike to play that game with, it will bite you and bite you hard.

No flame intended

Don
+1. Also, you will oil starve the motor on long wheelies unless you overfill the crankcase which isn't good for it when you are riding on 2 wheels.

Yes you can do short wheelies and I've seen video's of guys doing 100+ wheelies but it's not recommended. This is a bike build for speed NOT stunting. Your bike will suffer for it badly and sooner or later so will you. The Busa is not forgiving and when she bites, you will diffently know it. So be smart, ride safe, always wear you gear but have fun riding!