Whats the worse thing I've ever seen.....

GAmedic

Registered
This is a question I get asked far too often. The average citizen asks with curiosity because they are none the wiser. What people dont realize when they ask that question to people who do what I do for a living is they are wanting us to open Pandoras box so to speak. They are asking us to voice a perfect visual of very bad situations that we dont really want to relive.

I've seen dead kids. I've seen plenty of dead adults and more dead elderly than I can count over 12 years. I've seen violent car accidents that drunk people have survived and very simple car accidents that have killed people. I've seen suicides, homicides, police shootings, and too many overdoses. I've reversed overdoses, made people breathe again, briefly stopped people from breathing, slowed the progress of heart attacks, and recognized the signs of an early onset stroke.

So, what's the worst thing I've had to see? Its not your 16 year old neighbor who killed himself because his girlfriend left him. It's not the distraught mother bringing her lifeless infant to me who died of sudden infant death syndrome. It's not the car accident that killed four teens while the driver was texting. It's not even the biker who fell 300 feet down the side of a mountain after misjudging a curve.

It's the elderly person with difficulty breathing who will die hours later after promising his wife of 60 years that he will be fine, while both know he wont be. It's being called out to your fire brothers house because he fell on hard times and didnt have the courage to reach out for anything but a gun. Its delivering that baby girl in your home and letting reality set in that she will grow up without a mother because it was impossible to stop the bleeding. It's being called to ones house because a grandma has passed and we have to walk away knowing we could have made an attempt but false hope is worse than the walk back to the truck empty handed.