Ways to Change A/F ratio

Fredyp33

Registered
Gonna be switching out the exhaust soon to a Coffman’s slip-on. Decided on it months ago and already purchased and have it at the house, so don’t need the “xyz exhaust is better” story.

Read Getn Off’s post a few weeks back that he was running lean after putting them on. Is a Power Commander the only way to update the air/fuel ratio? I’ve always had standard slip-on exhausts and have never had a need to change a/f.

Also I’ve never been a fan of maxing the bike out on a dyno. Can a/f be checked and updated without blasting through all the gears to redline? I’m new to the a/f ratio update thing and truly don’t know enough.

Thanks.

A Bazzaz system also regulates the AFR. Mine was fine tuned on a dyno....I suppose it can be installed without a dyno run.

Why are you against getting a dyno tune? That is hands down the best way to make sure the bike is at optimal AFR throughout the range.

Just feel it’s hard on the bike. I know once or twice isn’t gonna hurt it, but I always ride my bikes easy and don’t want to push it to the limits unnecessarily.

I get that, but I'll say two things: First, running it on a dyno isn't doing anything it wasn't designed to do. Just because you prefer to ride it gently doesn't mean it wasn't designed to be maxed out. It was, and if you're not the only person who's ever ridden it, it probably has been.
Second, the best way to achieve what you want is to put it on a dyno, so it wouldn't be running it hard unnecessarily, it would be for a specific purpose.
Just my $.02....

I get that, but I'll say two things: First, running it on a dyno isn't doing anything it wasn't designed to do. Just because you prefer to ride it gently doesn't mean it wasn't designed to be maxed out. It was, and if you're not the only person who's ever ridden it, it probably has been.