Tuning With Ram-Air?

danath 34

Registered
So I am a complete newbie when it comes to tuning... I have only ever adjusted jetting on a carb, and have never done any kind of tuning in any way/shape/or form on a fuel injected bike... But I was thinking today, and have a question...

How do you accurately tune a bike with a ram-air intake, like the busa? Because to my knowledge, when a tuner does his magic on the bike, it is on the dyno, and thus the air pressure at the intake is just ambient pressure. Now you can tune it and get great numbers on the dyno, but when you actually take off down the road, you are going to get more air pressure (and thus more airflow) at the ram air intake. Now even if you perfectly tuned the bike on a dyno, wouldnt the nature of the ram-air make it go lean when you get up to speed?

Is there any accurate method of tuning so that you account for this extra air, short of setting it up in a wind tunnel?

Someone please educate me :bowdown:

What alot of tuners do on the dyno is shoot for a 12.8:1 A/F at WOT for a ram-air bike. When on the road, it ends up around 13.0:1-13.2:1 which is right where you want it.
The best way to do it is on the road with a wideband a/f meter, but this is VERY time consuming, not to mention dangerous running up and down the highway at WOT all the time...

What alot of tuners do on the dyno is shoot for a 12.8:1 A/F at WOT for a ram-air bike. When on the road, it ends up around 13.0:1-13.2:1 which is right where you want it.
The best way to do it is on the road with a wideband a/f meter, but this is VERY time consuming, not to mention dangerous running up and down the highway at WOT all the time...

interesting... so they typically tune it a bit rich at WOT, so that when you are on the road it hopefully falls where it should be...