Track day - iowa

Great write up WWJD!!
cool.gif

I'm jealous, 7 trackdays for the year....

I could only afford 3...
sad.gif

I am no track pro by no means. I have been to two, both at Road Atlanta.

In 13 20 min sessions, I learned more about being smooth and quick that I have in 17 years of street riding.

Alot are hesistant about a track day, I know I was, but there is no way I can see giving it up.

I have changed the way I ride on the street. I no longer push my limits at all. I still ride fast but I do not push on the envelope.

Alot disagree due to that pic I posted and some that have ridden with me. My track time has taught me to be smooth, or as smooth as 340lbs can be, lol.

I used to ride straight up without hanging off at all. My bike would be a serious lean and I have scrape marks on my lowers due to my poor body position combined with serious lean.

Now I am comfy hanging way off and even touching a knee on the street with error room.

I will continue to frequent the Gap and many roads in this area and enjoy a brisk pace, but I am done improving my skills on the street.

Great write up, but I'm sorry it wasn't a great track day for you...sounds like just too many out there trying to prove something when they didn't need to...

I was going to comment on your mud flap, but I know, I know...stock bike...
biggrin.gif

WWJD,
Nice write-up! As another owner of a 2003 silver/grey, I'm looking forward to my FIRST track day in July (VIR). I'll keep your tips in mind.