too polish or not too polish

Nsauble

Registered
Winter is upon us and I have some questions. Is it worth the hassle to polish or should you just by polished parts and chromed parts? I am a novice polisher, and the thought of screwing up my frame and swing arm scare me. Tearing down the bike to the bear frame to be chromed scares me even more. I am mechanically inclined carwise, but I am new to motorcycles.
biggrin.gif

Polish work isnt that hard. Not much to be scared of. It is a whole lot of work though.
Just start sanding.
wink.gif

Start out with some 150 or 180 depending on how bad the casting os on the frame and work you way up to 2000 or even better i finish mine off in 3000.
I go 150,320,400wet,600wet,800wet,1200wet,1500wet,2000wet,3000wet. Then whole lot of mothers aluminum compound.
I have been doing it for many years now and mostly use Air sanders and polishing tools, but i still find the best shine comes by hard hand work.

Best of all if you do my steps of polish work and then still want to have it chrome, the expensive part of chroming you allready did. 75-80% of the cost in chrome work is the labor to polish the parts first

(dolilind @ Sep. 19 2007,17:41) Polish work isnt that hard. Not much to be scared of. It is a whole lot of work though.
Just start sanding.  
wink.gif

Start out with some 150 or 180 depending on how bad the casting os on the frame and work you way up to 2000 or even better i finish mine off in 3000.
I go 150,320,400wet,600wet,800wet,1200wet,1500wet,2000wet,3000wet. Then whole lot of mothers aluminum compound.
I have been doing it for many years now and mostly use Air sanders and polishing tools, but i still find the best shine comes by hard hand work.
I agree with dolilind

(edubb1971 @ Sep. 19 2007,16:38) If you are not going to take the time and keep the shine of the polish, then you might want to chrome.