Tighening chain crap

IndyDave

Registered
Ok, to tighten the chain. I put bike on sidestand and a) remove cotter pin, b) loosen axel nut, then c) loosen the lock nuts... damn...the left side lock nut wants to strip when I try to loosen it. I am using the proper wrench included in the tool kit.

Any suggestions to fix this?

proper wrench included in tool kit

next time try a real tool
idea.gif

I would not recommend using the tools that come with the bike unless proper tools are unavailable. The best tool for the job would be six-point box-end wrench. Six points are better than twelve point because there is more contact area between the wrench and the nut. Twelve point are more popular because they are easier to put on the nut than a six point. The worst is an open-end wrench(that's what's in the busa's tool kit) because it has very little contact area. So as you apply more force, it will strip the nut due to small contact area between the nut and the wrench. I am an aircraft mechanic, just so you have an idea about my background.

I can't remember if a box-end can get on that nut, but if an open-end wrench has to be used. Get a real one from home depot or something. It's been a while since I tightened the chain, I can't remember if a box-end will work.

I can't remember if a box-end can get on that nut, but if an open-end wrench has to be used.  Get a real one from home depot or something.  It's been a while since I tightened the chain, I can't remember if a box-end will work.
Box end will not work unless you know some magic...I've never had a problem using the stock tools...You may have tried to turn it the wrong way and cased it to start stripping...No big deal...Just take it off and replace when you swap rear tire...