This is my "Mother of the Year" thread...

VaBusa

oRg Gal
Staff member
Administrator
On the subject of parenting...let's just say it should be called "practice" just like in medicine...I'm in a constant state of "practicing parent"...
cool.gif

My favorite "Mother of the Year" story...well over tw years ago, my lovely first born son is throwing a huge tantrum, I'm tired and pregnant with son #2, it's 11 p.m.  My solution after numerous attempts to get him to calm down - I picked him up out of bed, told him if he wants to cry all night he can do it outside, then I opened up the back door and set him down on our back deck where it's nice and dark...he immediately stopped crying, feet barely hit the decking and he was back inside...never heard another peep that night...

I humbly accept this award...

Hey, I'm still learning here...
tounge.gif
 I'm not perfect...

Funny story that just happened noting my "Mother of the Year and lack of cleaning skills"...my oldest, now 4 1/2 is in the bathroom.  He pulls the seat up to pee, his finger gets wet and instinctively (I guess) he puts THAT finger in his mouth, licks the wet substance off and says "what's that Mommy?" all within 2.2 seconds...

My reply, in as calm a way as I can muster is "that's where your brother just pee'd honey...you shouldn't put your fingers in your mouth if you don't know what it is..."  

I walked away and tried to maintain composure...it was hard...

I've determined that for all of my witty remarks and insightfulness in to things like parenting, maybe someone should take my kids before it's too late...
laugh.gif

I have a 4 1/2 year old and a 9 month old, sounds about normal to me I would say you can keep your award because we have all made decisions like that. Keep up the good work!
biggrin.gif
wink.gif