The Paint Guide

WOW, just found and signed up for this site today. Found all kinds of great information and since I have been a custom painter for 23 years now, I love seeing people write about paint and give just enough information out so people can try to to it themselves before going to a professional. It makes people respect and appreciate what we do even more and they also dont seem to gripe about the price now knowing how much work it truly is.
There was a lot of stuff you guys talked about that was good but I would have to say the biggest mistake you talked about was using primer over old paint. Not only does primer your bike making it a lot more heavy but, Old paint is the best primer you can have if it is in good condition. If your ever in a paint store of any kind, pick up a gallon of paint then go pick up a gallon of primer, The solids in primer are sometimes over 10 times more heavy then actual paint. The only time you would use primer on a factory painted bike is if you can not feather out the edges of 2 colors connecting such as the Hayabusa paint scheme. I also see the this thread was started in 03 and the piant technology is so far advanced sinc then that it makes some of the other things you said obsolete. And before I forget, do not EVER try to forc dry the plastic on your bike, not only are you taking a chance on warping the plastic, you are also not giving it time to adhere to the surface because unlike metal, plastic shrinks and expands in weather so to force dry it, it will not dry in relation to the pastic.