Tachometer problems

Pop

Prairie Rider
Donating Member
Registered
Finally plugged in the gauge cluster today that I got back from Bluegauges .com.  They are beautiful . There is a problem though.  The tach does not go from 0-redline and back once you turn the ignition on.  I unplugged the back and plugged
it in again and again  and some time it works like it is suppose to and other times it just flickers between 1k and 3k RPM.s   Is there something I can try ?  Everyrhing else works perfect.  Additionally when I start the bike and rev it it is very very sluggish in indicating the actual rpms.   I am not an expert
but it seems to be a "connection" thing.  Can anyone please help ?

<!--EDIT|Pop
Reason for Edit: None given...|1111421181 -->

While holding down the function button on the trip meter, turn on ign, count to two, let go of button then press it twice quickly. The needles will tap their lower stopps about 3 times. This is a reset from the service manual but it sounds like it may not help your particular prob. Give it a go, you never know.

Check connector is not dammaged, give it a spray with contact cleaner.

And make sure the needle is not dragging on the dial face.

Cheers
Ross

I would think it was either a bad connection....bent pin in the connector....or the needle is not on right.

i put on some indiglo gauges a few months agoand now i got the same problem comin home from daytona last weekend and now my rpm needle is stuck at 7K even with the bike off
mad.gif
looks like i gotta pull the cluster out and see WTF is wrong my first though is what nitrousjunkie just said

Well I do not think it is dragging boys. There seems to be quite a space between the needle and face. My worry is that when I squeeze together the connectors that is when it seems to work the best. I hope one of the wires from the harness is not loose in there. I would not know which one! Man I hate electronic stuff!
sad.gif