Suggestions for a new laptop

TallTom

Registered
I have a 6 year old Sony VAIO A270P that is getting tired. Wireless flakes out, hinge is broken, etc. In its day it was the shcnizzle. Now it's easily outdone by pretty much anything.

I'd like to consider replacing her with something reasonable in price yet pretty capable.

Want to go smaller screen this time. Lighter weight. I need to word process, s/s etc there. No games or if I do they won't be too intense on graphics. Multi-media would be good but not demanded. At least 140 H/D and no less than 1M of Ram. I'm not tech savvy enough to know the rest of the bells and whistles. My Sony worked great and served me well. I'd like to be on par with what that did.

Like to see what is out there for sub 450. Does not have to be brand new but I don't want something 2 years old ready to be retired either.

Suggestions.

I use a Mac, but my Bro. has nothing bad to say about Toshibas. Think he gave around $550 for his last one. He gave his old one to his daughter that she still uses.

Inspiron M101z Laptop Details | Dell $429 2GB Memory, small screen, 4 lbs...can't really do much better based on what you're asking for. :)

Size of a netbook, with the power of a laptop. Dell really does have unparalleled pricing and service after the sale in my opinion. I know a lot of people like to dog Dell, but they're the big kid on the block, it's understandable. In my experience, I have only had one defective issue with a Dell, and they replaced the part overnight, no questions asked.

Last edited:
Suggest you start checking in regularly on slickdeals.net (yes, dot net, not dot com). This is a forum where people post deals on stuff and good deals float to the top, just like the oRg. Lots of good lappy deals. I bought a Lenovo 15" a few months ago for about $370 shipped. Not the highest end machine, but good enough. Even the low end processors today are dual core. (avoid the atom processors!)