Stock Tires

MikesGSX1300RK9

Registered
I recently had my 2009 Busa in for its 4000 mile service. Shop said the tires are still OK... probably another couple thousand on them.

I was given a guideline of 5000 miles rear, 10,000 miles front for sportbike tires... just as a general guide... when I started riding several years ago.

Can anyone comment on how many miles are reasonable to expect on the factory original tires, '09 Busa, for a guy who doesn't ride too hard? I like an occasional blast on the throttle, but don't corner hard here in FL (sand) and DO ride the bike to work every day. Tires look OK to me... but don't want any unpleasant surprises.

Mike

Sounds about right. If I remember correctly, I got about 4,500 miles out of my stock rear. I changed front and rear the first time just because I wanted something softer than the stock BT-015. I get about 4k out of the rear and 6k out of the front now. Its going to depend a lot on which tire you choose, riding style, and condition of the roads in your area. Just keep your eye on the wear bars.

I did a thread about a month ago that showed my OEM tires on my 2012. I was able to get 5,600 miles out of my rear. Front is still good. Based on your riding style you may get to 6,000.

When you run thru those stock tires, you will find threads and threads about tires...

I recommend the Pirelli Angels. Very nice tires. I went straight to them from stockers. Stockers were dangerous tires in my opinion. :firing: Target practice!!

wear bars! if they start to show (regardless of miles), replace.
You mean I shouldn't wait until I have a one inch wide strip of cord all the way around the rear and spots of cord showing on the front :laugh:

I recommend the Pirelli Angels. Very nice tires. I went straight to them from stockers. Stockers were dangerous tires in my opinion. :firing: Target practice!!