stock tires and track days

Firefighter51819

Registered
hello guys and gals. i have been reading posts about track days and have never done one. def has my interest. i have a bone stock 06 busa with factory tires. found a leftover at a dealer a couple of weeks ago.

my question is since this is my primary ridin bike i want to get to know her better. im wantin to know if i am gonna just destroy my stock tires takin her to a track day. i am a novice by a large margin. i usually go in a straight line. hence my zx 10 being set up the way she is. wat other pointers can ya give me. i will have the track personnel help me set her up to my weight and such. later if i really enjoy the track days i will be tryin to find me an extra set of wheels for track tires. right now though i just want to learn her better. sorry for the long post. i appreciate the help guys.

Welcome! As Rush Chairman, I must inform you that you must post pics within the first few posts (if not the first) or else the sharks will be a'swimmin! :rulez:

Many oRgsters do trackdays - and if you find a school, they will offer advice on equipment and setup - but as a start here, Charlesbusa, LABusa, JetLi, cAptain, Omslaw - well, lots and lots of people have had thier scoots on the track and will be able to help you out. BT056's are probably on your scoot and should be fine... as you become more proficient and start really boogering them up, you may want to have a spare set for track use... long story short... for a track day or school, as you are learning, you won't completely shred them. If she is an 06 though, make sure you look at the tires really well - even with little to no mileage, the tires are at least four years old...

:welcome: It depends on how quickly you come up to speed so to speek. Most people will not go through a set of tires at their first track day. Then there's Macon454 :laugh: