Standalone ecu harness swap simple?

Daniel Sanders

Registered
Im looking at an a standalone ecu that cant use the hayabusa harness, it comes with its own, it cant use the standard hayabusa dash either, but it will allow a CANbus dash

I want to know, if the lights blinkers and all the required features of the bike, can be split from the bikes harness, and discard the ecu/engine related wiring ?

with this info ill then be able to work out if its a big job or not, if its far too difficult to split it all up I might reconsider a different option, like build a second bike that might be wrecked and rebuilt it, Or look for another standalone ECU that can hook into the hayabusa harness.

The ECU im looking at is called a typoon 2 ecu, its seems its built to suit bike power cars, but works on a bike of coarse.

I think the big brands like motec can plug into the hayabusa harness, its just there very expensive $3000

I'm not an expert on this but I know there's a reason why Stand alones like Motec etc. Cost more.... because that money you save on a non "plug n play" you will spend twice that on labor and trouble shooting during the install.

Yeah I tottaly agree with you on that one, I want to try weight up the options of which way I will go with this,

A, determine how much work to split ECU wire from harness ( maybe someone knows if this is a big job or a simple job )
B, Go with a streetfighter setup, and use a CANbus dash, if all the other wiring is somewhat simple to resolve, afterall most streetfighter setups require all the ordinary wiring to be redone to a degree ( clean up and hide)
C, fork out for a Standalone
B, put some research into Gen1 to Gen2 harness conversion ( done some already, but this would prob be at bottom of the list if all else fails )

Just want to guage Option A first up, the reason is that those Typoon and torado ECU Pack a punch, I loaded the software , its quite amazing, you can build your own map resolution, down to 100 RPM