SS brake lines

Sam Lin

Registered
Hi, I'm new to bikes, but my dad just got a new '03 Hayabusa, and I'm modding it some for him. I've dug through tons of old posts on here, and the one mod I'm still not sure on is Stainless Steel brake lines, specifically which to get.

I read a post that said the Goodridge front SS lines were 2 separate lines, elimininating the crossover line. Is that unique to Goodridge, or would the Galfer lines give the same results? I assume, based on car experience, that the front lines are the most important mod. Is there *really* a benefit to going to SS lines for rear brake when it's already easily locked up, or to SS lines for clutch, which really doesn't see much line pressure?

Thanks a lot, I've already learned a bunch reading through at least 5 pages of posts in most every section of the forums - once I get this and a question about frame sliders finalized, I'll post some pics of all the mods and a list.

Thanks!
Sam

Hi Sam,

Welcome to the board. You ask some great questions. The clutch is not worthy of stainless. People so it to match the brake side look. There is no preformance gain at all there.

I didn't replace the rear. I left it stock. The rear brake is just about worthless when using the fronts really hard. We have enough front rotor to loop the bike forward. It is sufficient for trail braking if you find it neccesary. Maybe there is some weight savings with -2 lines in back. Smaller diameter means less stainless and less oil. And that is UNsprung weight.