Spray paint job - asking for advice

jellyrug

Donating Member
Registered
Will appreciate advice from those who are in the body repair shop business, or with experience.

Have to fix a bit of track damage on a GXR600, small tank dent, some scratches on plastic.

This will be my process, help me where I may have it wrong.

1.) Tank, sand the dent and around it with 80 grit and use filler.

2.) Plastics, sand around the scratched up areas 80 grit and use filler.

3.) Sand filler down with final sand around 200 grit

4.) Scuff sand lightly rest of painted area at about 400 grit.

5.) Spray primer, two coats and sand down to 1000 wet sand.

6.) Spray final coats, black base only, how many coats will do the job? Planning two coats.

7.) Compound with three stages, rough, fine and polish, using a buffer.

If you want send them to me and I'll fix damage and re spray the parts. I'm a pro painter look in the general bike forum and look for the thread titled My Old Bikes those pics show my work.
I use auto paint with a HVLP gun rather than spray cans.

If you want send them to me and I'll fix damage and re spray the parts. I'm a pro painter look in the general bike forum and look for the thread titled My Old Bikes those pics show my work.
I use auto paint with a HVLP gun rather than spray cans.

Using rattle can only on damaged areas will never match. So depending on your expectations of the finished job this isn't a bad idea (or someone you may know local.)

If you are still thinking of going through with it you may want to consider spraying your damaged base, then mask off a wider area. Next spray down some clear adhesion promoter, and clear coat the wider area so it can overlap with your good clear and hopefully not flake off as soon. Still wont look amazing, but it will last longer.

If you want to have me do it I'll probably do the work for free you would just pay for shipping and materials.

Guys, thanks the help in the ORG family is just superb, honored to be here.