Simple cost effective mods that work!

aussie-racer

Registered
New to this forum, though I have been reading it for the last month. Ive read a lot on the simple mods you can do to the 1300cc Gen 1 motor. I picked a bike up for a tiny $US5000, I want to have a bit of fun with it so I'll make it for drag only.

In summary, I'd like to run this mods list past the experienced people out there before I do it. Quite simply I want best bang for buck and Im hunting for a motor with comfortably over 200rwhp.

So the simple mods:

- airbox mod with ram air ducts
- exhaust will be twin shorty headers with no mufflers (loud but thats ok)
- ECU tune
- Up the compression
- C16

So my question is, how much compression can I run on c16 keeping the rest stock? can I just go a thinner head gasket?

What mods do I have to do to the fuel system?

Any help or info would be great.

Thanks!

EDIT: I have built a motor before but it was a car - 2JZ motor. I'm no mechanic, but I read an research and dont mind giving it a go (even if sometimes I bugger it up).

Why do u only want a drag bike? U can make great power for the track and still be used on the street..thats the great thing about a busa

I've got an R1 for the street, I would have a street bike but rego cost for two bikes is holding me back.. and I have plans for the motor once Im bored with the drag strip! :thumbsup:

I leave motor stock, change gearing, little stretch good rear tire , 4 in to 1 exhaust and PC with a good tuner. These bikes will run strong with a stock motor. No need to go inside. Work on suspension and the launch Its a different beast than a R-1

cams
good exhaust..shorties don't make power just noise
ecu flash
This will get you over go 200rwhp with a good mechanic and tuner
On pump gas 92

lets see uhhh

lower it, mod/seal the airbox, all small intake rubber boots

power comander, exhaust, good fuel map

slick, wheelie bars, strut

get your best ET, then drop a dry 50 shot of juice on it