Running lean

BusaFbaby

Registered
hey orgsters. i have a question. is there any disadvantages to running lean (other than the obvious power loss) Does it harm the engine at all or anything like that. i ask because this is something i might consider doing for long trips to save more on gas or something like that. i have the pcIII so it is easy for me to adjust on the fly. i did this on my latest trip and noticed better gas mileage. any thoughts?

I'm not an expert but the experts have always stated this as a bad thing. You'll burn a hole in your piston :laugh:

Like DO3 said...too lean is a bad thing. what set up are you running are did you bring your UBS cable with you? Maybe we can download you a different map tonight.

i got the proper map from brock's already. i was a bit rich at first with the right map but i think part of that was because my airfilter was dirty and not getting enough air in it. i will change that today too and see if that makes a difference. i have had the pcIII set low but really have not noticed the better mileage until i cleaned the stock air filter a little. i did it by taking my vacuum and the small attatchment and vacumming the filter a bit which did remove some dust and dirt so that could be the cause of the better mileage. my whole problem was that i was originally getting 29mpg on the highway with stock gearing and the proper map !!!!!!

I haven’t had a PC in a while but if I remember correctly the amount you are actually adjusting within your map is very minimal. Even if you set it as lean as it would go it should not be lean enough to damage your valves or pistons unless you had a map that was already too lean.