Repairing Headers Before And After - Lots Of Pics

CT_Busa

Registered
Bought my 2005 Hayabusa last month. Race only bike that I bought pretty much turnkey. It came with a really cool Brock's Hindle Street Smart Titanium exhaust. But the pipe was flattened pretty bad at the 2 and 3 pipes by the oil pan due to a strapped front end and lowering links. It also had the wrong size clamp on the muffler and there was a gnarly kink in the can. Spent the last two evenings reshaping the pipes, repairing the dents, and getting the kink out of the can muffler. Complete PIA but very worth it. I'm by no means an expert but if you have any questions about the process I used ask away.

Here's some before and after pics. The picture does no justice for the kink in the muffler...

Before-
IMG_0240.JPG

IMG_0252.JPG

IMG_0251.JPG

IMG_0258.JPG

IMG_0291.JPG

Last edited by a moderator:
Wrong hanger, get a rear peg assembly and do it right

Yes definitely the wrong hanger. With the brackets that move the front pegs down and back it compounded the problem. Since it's a dragbike only for me I picked up a sidewinder. So this pipe is going on the shelf for now.

Nice work, did you use a stud gun, and puller?

My header pipes(Brocks)are also mashed in exactly the same spot from going over a damned parking lot speed bump I didn't notice until it was too late,interested in knowing how you pulled the dents out.:super:

It crossed my mind to try a stud puller but once I started working with the pipes I knew there was little to no chance the studs would be strong enough.

I'm still not entirely sure what type of material they are made of. The system said Titanium on the sticker but I'm not sure if that was referring only to the muffler can. Whatever it is, I've never worked with it whether it be titanium or a very high end grade of stainless... and it is hard as nails.