Removing the front fairing.

busabuddy

Registered
Hi,
I'm a newbie here and have a couple of questions I couldn't find answered from past posts.
I low-sided my busa yesterday after hitting some gravel and fortunately suffered only cosmetic damage to the bike. I removed the side fairing and started to remove all visible bolts from the front fairing and realized the lights etc. must be attached somewhere. It's hard to see exactly where it's connected inside. Should I get it removed at a shop or is it a matter of simply finding a couple of screws?
Second question, a friend of mine suggested bringing the fairings to a good auto body shop and have them paint them and send away for new decals. He said it would be much cheaper than replacing them and that the quality should be good. What do you guys think?

custom paint the whole bike.. probably won't cost much more than returning it to factory conditions to be honest.

The front fairing comes off even easier than the side ones....if you know where to look. First remove the two rear view mirrors (4 bolts), then remove the 6 front to side fairing bolts (3 each side). Then look under the nose for the push-pin plastic retainers. push in the center of each and pull out the whole retainer, I think there are 4? Now simply grab the top of hte fairing from the front and pull outward so the fairing top edges clear the mirror bosses.
The whole unit will come off - lights and all. There is a cable still connected between the fairing and the bike. The connecter is unplugged where the two fairings come together on the right side (looking at the bike). It is easier to do if some one unplugs it while you hold the loose nose fairing. Otherwise it is wrestling match trying not to drop the fairing.

Thanks a million SierraFlyer, I got it off.  My original mistake was in thinking that the lights where somehow more connected to the front assembly.