Removing PAIR VALVE questions

superchargedv8

Registered
Since its a pretty common mod and I've never done it before i had some questions before i did it since I guess I'm a newbie again...lol. I want to remove the whole pair valve setup so ill be buying some block off plates. Question is when i take all of the part off will i get a engine code? If so how do i go about getting rid of the code? Does a power commander3 usb have the ability to turn off the PAIR valve? THNX!

If it a Gen1, you will not get an engine code. I do not know about the Gen2.

The power commander only controls fuel delivery. It would not turn off the pair valve. The pair valve cannot be turned off. It can only be removed.

if you have a gen2, "boostbysmith" aka smithabusa makes a plug in resistor thatll keep it from throwing the fi light. schnitz sells his as well both are sponsors here.

I took mine off over the winter, mainly because of the weight saving and getting rid of the useless lump of metal bolted to the front of the engine. Didn't expect to gain any performance from it but the bike does seem to run better without it, especially at idle.

Since its a pretty common mod and I've never done it before i had some questions before i did it since I guess I'm a newbie again...lol. I want to remove the whole pair valve setup so ill be buying some block off plates. Question is when i take all of the part off will i get a engine code? If so how do i go about getting rid of the code? Does a power commander3 usb have the ability to turn off the PAIR valve? THNX!
Do the marble mod, its a 5 minute job compared to removing the pair equipment, exhaust, bodywork, loosening up the radiator and oil cooler etc. You won't even notice the couple of lbs worth of weight you remove, but you WILL notice the day or more of labor (depending on your wrenching skills) and possible problems that could pop up removing the pair set-up. Keep it simple :thumbsup: