Question for the experts

jpowell490

Registered
Hey Guys,

Sorry if this is the wrong place to ask, but being a newbie here, still learning my way around. :whistle:

On the referral of member Kromdom, I bought the 08 Busa from acrobat here on the board Saturday. 1460 miles and like new, not to mention acro is a super guy.

I took the fairings off and did an oil change and I am about positive I did not move anything and put everything back correctly. I have done a lot of this before just not on a busa. I am smelling a plastic type burning smell when riding the bike or idling. Now mind you, this bike is pretty much new and have new Micron slip ons on it. So it could be that as Kromdom tells me.

Also after washing with s100 and a pressure washer ( no I stood pretty far back and did not put high pressure on anything ) I started the bike and let it warm up and steam was coming up through the handlebar area, could tell it was steam because it fogged up the windscreen. It was coming from the radiator it looked like. I have not seen it since so I am hoping it isn't a leak and just moisture where I washed it.

Lastly, is the oil and transmission all in one on these bikes? What I mean is, does the oil act as the transmission lubricant as well? I only saw one drain plug and I know from past, some are like that and some are not. Some have seperate trans fluid.

The only stupid thing I did was tap the fairing back on with the palm of my hand trying to get a grommet back in and made about a 2 inch crack in the fairing :banghead: I wanted to cry right on the spot :poke:

Thanks guys for assuring me and answering the above questions. I will post pics in a few days when this weather clears up.